Amazon rules, October 2026

Amazon Clothing Image Requirements (2026)

Clothing images on Amazon follow their own rules: a standing model on pure white for most main images, a set crop for each garment type, flat lays for kids' clothing, and since July 2026 a metadata tag on images with AI-generated people. Here's what Amazon's own documents say, with links.

By Margarita Afanaseva · Updated October 4, 2026

The short answer

Amazon wants the main image of a clothing listing on a pure white background, showing one product with no props, text or logos: on a standing model wearing shoes for most adult clothing, and laid flat for kids' and baby clothing. Clothing images should be at least 1,000 px and no larger than 3,900 px on the longest side so zoom works, ideally as JPEG, with up to eight more images after the main one. Since July 2026, images that show photorealistic AI-generated people also need a metadata tag before upload.

Where these rules come from

Amazon publishes image rules in several places, and they don't all match. This guide uses four Amazon sources, checked in October 2026:

  • The Clothing & Accessories style guide (PDF, dated March 2022, still live at Amazon's URL). The most detailed source for apparel: main image do's and don'ts, crops by garment type, zoom, file naming.
  • 6 tips for taking product photos on Sell on Amazon (December 4, 2024). General rules for every category.
  • Amazon's announcement on AI-generated people, posted in the Seller Forums by the News_Amazon account on July 27, 2026.
  • The Seller Central product image guide. It requires a seller login, so we couldn't read it for this guide. If you sell on Amazon, check it in your account for the current wording.

Where the sources disagree, we show both.

Main image rules for clothing

From Amazon's Clothing & Accessories style guide:

  • Pure white background: RGB 255, 255, 255 (#FFFFFF).
  • One product: no stacks of images or several products in one frame, except multipacks.
  • One view: no multiple views of the product in a single image.
  • A standing model: not sitting, kneeling, leaning or lying down.
  • Shoes on: models must wear shoes in the main image, except for swimwear and sleepwear.
  • No props: no accessories that aren't included with the purchase. The guide names phones, drinkware and handbags.
  • Nothing added: no borders, logos, watermarks, inset images, text, color blocks or other decorations, and no promotional text like "sale" or "free ship".
  • Sharp and complete: nothing blurry or pixelated, no jagged edges, and no part of the product cut off by the frame edge.
  • The real product, in its color: every color variation (child ASIN) needs its own main image showing that color.

Amazon's general guide adds that the product should fill 85% or more of the frame. The style guide warns that images that miss these requirements may result in the suppression of your ASIN from search.

Main image crops by garment type

The style guide sets a crop for each kind of garment:

CropGarments listed in Amazon's guideHow it's framed
Full length, on figureMaxi dresses, jumpsuits, tracksuits, pajama sets with trousers, dungarees and rompers, suits and tuxedosTop of the image cut between the nose and upper lip; bottom below the feet. Required for anything that falls at or below the fingertips when worn, and for dresses of any length
Upper body, on figureTops, jumpers, short dresses, outerwear, two-piece underwear, short skirts and shortsOn the upper body; the guide shows the exact cut in example photos
Waist down, on figureTrousers, jeans, long shorts and long skirtsFrom the waist down
Lay down, off figureAll kids' and baby clothing; women's and men's accessories such as scarves, belts, hats, ties and cold-weather accessoriesShot flat with pins and liner or stuffing, symmetrical, steamed; can be cropped square
Off figure, stackedMultipacks and kids' and baby setsLaid on top of one another, cascading diagonally from left to right

The guide contradicts itself on short dresses: it lists them under the upper-body crop but also says dresses of any length need a full-length crop. A full-length frame shows the whole dress under either reading.

Whatever crop you use, keep it consistent: if the main image is rectangular, the guide asks for every other image to be rectangular too, and the same for square.

Kids' clothing

  • Main images for all kids' and baby clothing use the off-figure lay-down crop.
  • Kids' underwear and swimwear: if your product is listed under Kids' Undergarments or Kids' Swimwear, the guide says both the main and the alternate images must be off-figure flat only. Shooting underwear or swimwear on kids is strictly prohibited and subject to removal.
  • Sets for kids and babies are shot off figure, stacked diagonally.

The general restrictions apply to every listing: no nudity or sexually suggestive images, and the product shouldn't look second-hand or used.

Additional images

  • Up to eight alternate images for each parent or child ASIN, on top of the main image.
  • Wider freedom than the main: alternates can show the product on location, with props and in use, plus cross-sections, texture and the brand tag. The guide asks for a back shot whenever possible.
  • Same quality rules as the main image for size and sharpness.
  • No promotional text and no placeholders like "temporary image" or "no image available".
  • How many: based on its customer tests, Amazon recommends 5 to 7 images per listing (a graphic on the same page says a minimum of 4). The guide marks the front shot as mandatory, the back shot as extremely important, and a styled shot and detail shots as valuable extra images. The general guide recommends at least six images.
  • File names for bulk uploads combine the product identifier, a variant code and the extension, for example B00SAMPLE.MAIN.jpg and B00SAMPLE.PT01.jpg. For products shot on a model, Amazon recommends adding an off-figure alternate named FL01.

Dimensions, zoom and aspect ratio

Clothing style guide (March 2022)General guide (December 2024)
Minimum1,000 px on the longest side500 px on the longest side
Maximum3,900 px on the longest side10,000 px on the longest side
ZoomThe 1,000 px minimum enables zoomPrefers images larger than 1,000 px on each side, to allow zoom
Aspect ratio10:13, at least 190 × 246 pxNot stated
Resolution72 dpiNot stated

For clothing, a longest side between 1,000 and 3,900 px satisfies both documents. At the guide's 10:13 ratio, 3,000 × 3,900 px is the largest size that fits. Pick 10:13 or square and keep it the same for every image in the listing.

File formats and color

  • Clothing style guide: the main image page says JPEG and TIFF are accepted and JPEG is preferred; the file requirements page lists JPG or PNG, with JPG preferred. RGB is preferred over CMYK, which can shift tones on screen. Videos go in as MP4 (preferred) or MOV.
  • General guide: JPEG, TIFF, PNG or non-animated GIF, with JPEG preferred.

A JPEG in RGB fits every version of the rules.

AI-generated images: what Amazon says

On July 27, 2026, Amazon posted this announcement to sellers:

You must now tag product images that contain photorealistic AI-generated people with specific metadata before you add them to your listings and A+ content in any of our worldwide stores.

What that means in practice:

  • How to tag: use an IPTC-compatible metadata editor to add the keyword contains-synthetic-performer to the dc:subject (XMP) field of the image or video file before you upload it.
  • What shoppers see: Amazon says it will add an indicator telling customers that the image includes AI-generated people, where applicable.
  • No tag needed if the image only features real people (even if they were altered with AI tools), only features characters from movies, TV, games or other expressive works, doesn't feature any people, or doesn't feature photorealistic people.
  • Detailed steps are on a Seller Central help page, "How to tag media that contains an AI-generated person", which requires a login.

Beyond this tagging rule, we found no rule in Amazon's public documents, as of October 2026, that bans AI-generated product images. The same rules apply to them as to any photo, starting with the most basic one in the style guide: the main image must represent the actual product being listed.

On-model images made with an AI model, including ours, show a photorealistic AI-generated person, so on Amazon they need the tag.

Amazon vs Shopify vs Etsy

Amazon (clothing)ShopifyEtsy
Recommended sizeLarger than 1,000 px on each side, for zoom (general guide)2048 × 2048 px for square product imagesAt least 2,000 px in width and height
Minimum1,000 px on the longest side (style guide); 500 px (general guide)Not statedFirst photo at least 635 px wide and tall, or it may show up lower in search
Maximum3,900 px on the longest side (style guide); 10,000 px (general guide)5000 × 5000 px or 25 megapixels; file under 20 MBNo pixel limit stated; files over 1 MB may not finish uploading on slow connections
Shape10:13 or square, the same across the listingOne consistent aspect ratio for main imagesFirst photo landscape or square; same shape for the rest
Main image backgroundPure white, RGB 255, 255, 255No ruleNo rule
FormatsJPEG preferred; TIFF, PNG, non-animated GIF acceptedPNG, then JPEG; also PSD, TIFF, BMP, GIF, SVG, HEIC, WebPJPG, GIF, PNG, SVG, HEIC; no animated GIF or transparent PNG
Images per listingMain plus up to 8 alternates; 5 to 7 recommendedUp to 250 media per productUp to 20 photos and 2 videos
AI-generated peopleTag the file with contains-synthetic-performerNo rule in the help pages we checkedPolicy asks for original photos of the actual product, not renderings or stock photos; it doesn't mention AI

Checklist

Main image

  • Pure white background, RGB 255, 255, 255
  • One product, one view, filling 85% or more of the frame
  • Adult clothing on a standing model, with shoes except for swimwear and sleepwear; kids' and baby clothing laid flat
  • The crop Amazon sets for the garment type
  • No props, text, logos, borders or watermarks
  • A separate main image for every color

Alternate images

  • A back view
  • Detail and fabric close-ups
  • A styled or lifestyle shot
  • An off-figure image when the main is on a model

Files

  • Longest side between 1,000 and 3,900 px; 10:13 or square, the same for every image
  • JPEG in RGB
  • Named with the product identifier and MAIN, PT01, PT02 and so on for bulk upload
  • contains-synthetic-performer in the metadata of any image with a photorealistic AI-generated person

Our Amazon clothing photography service delivers on-model photoshoots sized for Amazon, and a person checks the main image against these rules before delivery. To see how a 7-image set fills Amazon's slots, read inside a 7-image photoshoot.

Selling clothes on Amazon without on-model photos? Book a call and we'll go through your listings and what a compliant set would look like.

FAQ

What are Amazon's main image requirements for clothing?
A pure white background (RGB 255, 255, 255), one product and one view, no props, text, logos or watermarks, and nothing cut off by the frame. Most adult clothing is shown on a standing model wearing shoes, except for swimwear and sleepwear. Kids' and baby clothing is laid flat.
What size should Amazon clothing images be?
Amazon's Clothing & Accessories style guide asks for at least 1,000 px and no more than 3,900 px on the longest side, so zoom works, in a 10:13 ratio or square. Its general photo guide allows 500 to 10,000 px and prefers images larger than 1,000 px on each side.
Can the main image for clothing be a flat lay on Amazon?
Amazon's clothing style guide uses flat lay-down main images for kids' and baby clothing, some accessories and multipacks, and shows other adult clothing on a standing model. It doesn't spell out a flat-lay ban for adult clothing; the Seller Central image guide may have more detail, but it requires a seller login.
Does Amazon allow AI-generated model photos?
We found no public Amazon rule, as of October 2026, that bans AI-generated product images. Since July 27, 2026, though, images that contain photorealistic AI-generated people must carry the keyword contains-synthetic-performer in the dc:subject (XMP) metadata field before upload, and Amazon may show customers an indicator.
How many images can an Amazon clothing listing have?
A main image plus up to eight alternate images for each parent or child ASIN. Amazon's clothing guide recommends 5 to 7 images per listing, including a front and a back view; its general photo guide recommends at least six.

Still have questions?

Send us a brief and we'll reply with a proposal within one business day, or book a call and we'll look at your products together.